top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlex Pratt

Let there be Light 2017: No 21


American rap artist Eminem said ‘My father? I never knew him. Never even seen a picture of him.'

Being both a son and a father makes you realise just how difficult a job it can be to be a great dad, and equally just how deprived those are who have not had a father figure in their lives.A father is a man who expects his son to be as good a man as he meant to be.

My dad fell and broke his hip at the weekend and at 84 and with just half a heart left I really don’t want to lose my dad even though it sometimes feels he’d be happier to let go now.

My dad is flawed, just as I have been flawed as a dad. It’s the nature of the role…we are all amateurs doing our best. I’d have loved to been father to a daughter as well as my son.

My friend J’s dad died last year and she is still grieving his loss and would give anything to see her dad just one more time. Listening to her speak of him makes you picture a wonderfully flawed loving chap doing his best for his family in the balancing act that is a life. He remains truly loved today.

This chart has it so right. Of course, the younger me wouldn’t have accepted it because of course I knew better.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page